50th Annual Dinner

Annual Dinner

The 50th Annual Dinner and prizegiving was held at the Greenhill Hotel. Over 100 sailors and guests swapped drysuits for dinner suits and evening dresses for an enjoyable evening. Dinner was followed by some excellent speeches - Sue Watson wrote an ode about Them Women in That Boat, Miles conveniently 'lost' his speech for a while so he could slip in a couple of jokes (No time for the donkey joke this year), Ian Preston talked about the lifetime appeal of sailing, and much to his surprise, Pete Nuttall qualified to respond on behalf of the prizewinners!

Bobby Middleton presented the prizes to a wide selection of sailors (Click on following images for full picture)

FF Champions - Scott and Tom Beattie Laser Champion - Mark Somerville GP14 Champions - David and Lynne Lawson

A special award went to Joe Hardon for his dedication to keeping the grounds well mown throughout the season as well keeping the ladies loos well plunged throughout Bass Week. The Roger Pryde Memorial Trophy was awarded to an up and coming junior superstar in the form of Richard Hodgkins. So taken by the sailing bug he'll continue sailing throughout the winter months.

Joe Hardon with the Consistency Trophy Richard Hodgkins with the Roger Pryde Memorial Trophy

Bridget and her sons with THEIR trophies Philip and Richard Hodgkins with Wendy Lewis

Mike Denwood Jak and Florence reminiscing

This site was last updated on 05 January, 2002