Annual Dinner 2007

Annual Dinner

The 56th annual dinner was held at Greenhill Hotel. Nearly 100 members and guests enjoyed three course dinner, followed by some live music to dance it off! Dave Todhunter gave the first speech recalling some of his experiences during his first two years sailing, capped off with the tale of the ferociously fought battle at the culmination of the mirror championship in which he almost sunk Mik Chappell in a bid to gain an extra place in the championship! Would the tales have been so funny if they weren't in fact true?! Finally he proposed a toast to the club which was responded to by commodore Stephen Hunt. The prizes were presented by Elaine Hunt, the commodore's wife.


  Flying Fifteen Series:  
Flying Free Trophy Mike Moore
Jack Pot Mike Moore Mark Rimmer
CSSA (Fleet A) Mike Moore Mark Rimmer
Fleet Challenge A Mike Moore Mark Rimmer
Easterly Trophy Scott Beattie John Somerville
Mellor Mug Scott Beattie John Somerville
  Laser & Handicap Series:  
Isel Cup Mark Somerville
Easter Holiday Trophy Mark Somerville
Grisedale Cup Mark Somerville Joe Roberts
Celebrity Glass Trophy Mark Somerville
Barf Trophy Stephen Hunt Ruth Critchley
Dodd Trophy Stephen Hunt Ruth Critchley
May Holiday Trophy Stephen Hunt Ruth Critchley
Max Joule Memorial Trophy Stephen Hunt Ruth Critchley
August Trophy Robin Dawson Ethan Dawson
Comet Trophy Robin Dawson Ethan Dawson
Wythop Series Robin Dawson Ethan Dawson
Albert Bates Retirement Robin Dawson
  Paul Carruthers Memorial Trophy Andy Smith Emma Powell
  Bassenthwaite Burgee Andy Smith Emma Smith
Foxtail Trophy (Fleet B) Tim Chittenden
Personal Handicap Pursuit (Fleet C) Ian Smith
  Spring Holiday Trophy (Fleet A) Amanda Bainbridge
Skiddaw Trophy Neil Currie Judith Currie
  Tinker Trophy William Carruthers Lesley Drummond
  October Series John Halliday Janis Halliday
  Night Jar B Rory Yardley
  Winter Series 2006 Tim Knowles
  GP14 Series:  
Aitken Cup David Lawson Lynn Lawson
Bass Tankard David Lawson Lynn Lawson
Harney Hetherington Trophy (Fleet A) David Lawson Lynn Lawson
Lyne Tankard David Lawson Ken Bell
Jubilee Sailing Trust David Lawson Lewis Tyson
Bowman Trophy Mike Fairlamb
Stables Prize Mike Fairlamb
Commodore’s Prize Mike Fairlamb Eric Smith
Personal Handicap Pursuit (Fleet C) Mike Fairlamb Eric Smith
RNLI Pennant Mike Fairlamb
  Autumn Cup Hugh Godfrey Rhonwen Bryce
  Mustard Pot Hugh Godfrey Rhonwen Bryce
  Spring Cup Hugh Godfrey Rhonwen Bryce
  Starters Prize Hugh Godfrey Rhonwen Bryce
  Jimmy Lancaster Memorial Trophy Hugh Godfrey Rhonwen Bryce
Ross Wear Helm (Fleet B) Dave Nicholson Sarah Nicholson
Bowes-Sinclair Trophy (2nd Stables) Dave Nicholson Sarah Nicholson
  McMillan Cup Julian Cruikshank
Night Jar Mike Turner Sue Watson
  Mirror Series:  
Mirror Mug Mik Chappell
Windfall Trophy (fleet A) Mik Chappell
Red Sails Trophy Mik Chappell
Peel Pot Mik Chappell
Reflection Trophy Mik Chappell
AB Series Dave Todhunter
Singlehanded Trophy Dave Todhunter
Orsova Cup Dave Todhunter
  Round Table Tankard Tim Smith
  Image Tankard Tim Smith
  Bates Tim Smith
  Kirk Helmsman Trophy (Fleet B) Dave Horner
  M Series (Night Jar) Stephen Sharp  
  All Classes:  
Sandra's Salver Sue Watson
  Ladies Race Emma Smith
Crews Race Sue Watson
Junior Race Lewis Tyson
Evening Plate (Night Jar) Jo Watkins
Night Jar under 16 Jo Watkins
  Flying Fifteen Club Championship:  
Brackenrigg Trophy Mike Moore Mark Rimmer
Anderson Trophy Scott Beattie John Somerville
Wheel Trophy Ian Preston Jess Roberts
Maurice Dalton Trophy Keith Thomas
Lawson Trophy Mike Moore
Handicap Championship Mike Moore
  Laser & Handicap Club Championship:  
Osprey Trophy Mark Somerville Andy Thomas/Joe Roberts
T.S.B Trophy Stephen Hunt Ruth Critchley
Arthur Carr Trophy Sam Hall
Eagle Trophy William Carruthers Jonathan Connor
Kirk Decanter Neil Currie Judith Currie
1972 Trophy Sam Hall
  Handicap Championship Mike Cowan  
  GP14 Club Championship:  
  Elwyn Banner Mendus Cup Hugh Godfrey Rhonwen Bryce
  Philp Prize Mike Fairlamb Eric Smith
Twiname Prize David Lawson Lynn Lawson
  Hatrick Prize Julian Cruikshank
  Beginners Prize Katherine Davis  
Handicap Championship Dave Nicholson Sarah Nicholson
  Mirror Club Championship:  
Mirror Trophy Mik Chappell  
  Excalibur Trophy Tim Smith  
Handicap Championship Dave Todhunter  
Bassenthwaite Bell Dave Todhunter  
Handicap Championship Dave Todhunter
  Special Awards:
Roger Pryde Memorial Lewis Tyson
Consistency Trophy Mark Rimmer

Sam Hall proudly displays the Mount Haes Trophy that he won crewing for the Cumbria team in this year's NSSA regatta  

This page was last updated on 11 February, 2008